Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Speaker Souki Receives Distinguished Alumni Award from Woodbury University

Woodbury President Dr. Luis Maria R. Calingo presents Speaker Joseph M. Souki with the Distinguished Alumni Award.
In the early 1950’s Joseph M. Souki left the island of Maui for Southern California to attend, what was then called, Woodbury College.  He worked three jobs to pay for his tuition and living expenses and, in what might be considered his first venture into the leadership arena, also was President of Woodbury’s Hawaiian Club.  In 1954 he received a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Woodbury and returned to Maui.

For his many accomplishments and service to the people of Maui and the State, Woodbury University presented Speaker Souki with its Distinguished Alumni Award at a dinner honoring him earlier this past weekend in Honolulu.

"Speaker Joe Souki is the embodiment of the Woodbury alumnus that we seek. He has demonstrated his entrepreneurial skills in his profession as a realtor. He has demonstrated design thinking when he initiated the Maui Economic Opportunity wheelchair accessible bus service, the senior citizen discount card program, Meals on Wheels, and Youth Transportation Services that help young people today to have fun and be productive. His civic engagement is best evident in his advocacy for the women and children who are victims of domestic violence,” said Woodbury President Dr. Luis Maria R.Calingo.

“Representative Souki has transcended disciplinary boundaries by applying his organizational and management skills to political leadership as Speaker of the Hawaii House of Representatives. Entrepreneurship, design thinking, civic engagement, and transdisciplinarity – these are the Four Pillars of Woodbury Education, all epitomized in the Honorable Speaker Joseph M. Souki,” said President Calingo.

Speaker Joseph M. Souki with Woodbury President Dr. Luis Maria R. Calingo and University Relations Vice President Gregory S. Krikorian
“I am extremely honored to receive this award from my Alma Mater Woodbury University.  Never did I imagine when I first traveled to Los Angeles to pursue my education, that such a recognition would be possible for me.  Back then I wasn’t sure that I would even make it through,” joked Speaker Souki.

“Every phase in a person’s life begins with a significant moment and decision. For me, one of those moments began with the decision to attend Woodbury, and I am very grateful to have been given the opportunity to further my education at such a fine institution,” said Souki.

Woodbury University is one of the oldest institutions of higher education in Southern California.  Founded in 1884, Woodbury offers bachelor’s degrees from the School of Architecture, the School of Business, and the School of Media, Culture and Design.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

2015 Leadership Team and Committee Chairpersons

House Speaker Joseph M. Souki today announced the appointments of the House of Representatives Majority leadership lineup for the 28th Legislature which convenes on January 21, 2015.

“The team that we have formed represents the kind of talents and abilities that will best serve our residents and will address the issues facing our state,” said Speaker Souki. “We look forward to engaging in meaningful discussions with Governor-elect David Ige and his administration to continue to identify ideas and solutions to help Hawaii move forward.”

Members of the House Leadership are as follows:

Speaker of the House        Joseph M. Souki
Vice Speaker                     John M. Mizuno
Majority Leader                Scott K. Saiki
Majority Floor Leader      Cindy Evans
Majority Whip                  Ken Ito
Asst. Majority Leader       Chris Lee
Asst. Majority Leader       Roy M. Takumi
Speaker Emeritus             Calvin K.Y. Say

2015 House Committee Chairpersons:

Agriculture (AGR)
Clift Tsuji, Chair
Richard H.K. Onishi, Vice Chair

Economic Development & Business (EDB)
Derek S.K. Kawakami, Chair
Sam Kong, Vice Chair

Veterans, Military & International Affairs (VMI)
Romy M. Cachola, Chair
Ken Ito, Vice Chair

Tourism & Culture and the Arts (TCA)
Tom Brower, Chair
Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

Labor & Public Employment (LAB)
Mark M. Nakashima, Chair
Jarrett Keohokalole, Vice Chair

Public Safety (PBS)
Gregg Takayama, Chair
Kyle T. Yamashita, Vice Chair

Transportation (TRN)
Henry J.C. Aquino, Chair
Matthew LoPresti, Vice Chair

Health (HLT)
Della Au Belatti, Chair
Dee Morikawa, Vice Chair

Housing (HSG)
Mark J. Hashem, Chair
Richard Creagan, Vice Chair

Human Services (HUS)
Mele Carroll, Chair
Bertrand Kobayashi, Vice Chair

Energy & Environmental Protection (EEP)
Chris Lee, Chair
Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

Ocean, Marine Resources & Hawaiian Affairs (OMH)
Kaniela Ing, Chair
Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

Water & Land (WAL)
Ryan I. Yamane, Chair
Ty J.K. Cullen, Vice Chair

Education (EDN)
Roy M. Takumi, Chair
Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

Higher Education, (HED)

Isaac W. Choy, Chair
Linda Ichiyama, Vice Chair

Finance (FIN)
Sylvia Luke, Chair
Scott Y. Nishimoto, Vice Chair

Legislative Management (LMG)
Scott Y. Nishimoto, Chair
John M. Mizuno, Vice Chair

Consumer Protection & Commerce (CPC)
Angus L.K. McKelvey, Chair
Justin H. Woodson, Vice Chair

Judiciary (JUD)
Karl Rhoads, Chair
Joy San Buenaventura, Vice Chair