Thursday, May 18, 2017


From left: Rep. Jarrett Keohokalole, Rep. Aaron Ling Johanson, Rep. Mark M. Nakashima, Rep. Dee Morikawa, Rep. Della Au Belatti, House Speaker Scott Saiki, Rep. Cindy Evans, Rep. Henry J.C. Aquino, Rep. Kaniela Ing, and Rep. Justin Woodson

Hawaii State House Speaker Scott K. Saiki announced his full leadership team today. His new leadership team for the House of Representatives will help to empower women and the next generation of leaders at the State Capitol. 

For the first time since statehood, three of the top four leadership positions will be filled by women and seven of the total 11 leadership positions will be filled by lawmakers in their early 40s or younger. Representatives from all three neighbor island counties comprise nearly half of the leadership team.

“As we look to build and reform the Hawaii State House of Representatives, it is important to ensure that women and the next generation of leaders are given the opportunity to lead under my tenure as Speaker. We have a real diversity of perspective and life experience in this leadership team that will position us well to lead the state on the many critical issues facing us today,” said Speaker Saiki.

The new House leadership includes:

·         Vice Speaker – Representative Della Au Belatti (District 24)
·         Majority Leader – Representative Cindy Evans (District 7), Hawaii Island
·         Majority Floor Leader – Representative Dee Morikawa (District 16), Kauai
·         Majority Policy Leaders – Representative Jarrett Keohokalole (District 48)
       Representative Kaniela Ing (District 11), Maui
·         Majority Whips – Representative Henry J.C. Aquino (District 38)
     Representative Aaron Ling Johanson (District 31)
     Representative Chris Lee (District 51)
     Representative Mark M. Nakashima (District 1), Hawaii Island
     Representative Justin Woodson (District 9), Maui