Monday, October 7, 2013

State House Honors Youth Football Program

 State House Honors Youth Football Program

Today the House honored the Coaching Boys Into Men (CBIM) program, created by Futures Without Violence and implemented in Hawaii by the non-profit Ala Kuola. The program equips athletic coaches with strategies, scenarios and resources needed to build attitudes and behaviors among young male athletes that promote respectful, healthy relationships. Coaches have numerous opportunities to teach early and often that violence has no place in relationships. 

The event was organized by Edwin K. Flores, Ala Kuola and Vice Speaker John Mizuno. The following athletic directors and coaches were in attendance: 

Athletic Directors:  Blake Moritsugu (Aiea H.S.), Mark Brilhante (Kalaheo H.S.), Gregory Van Cantfort (Kalani H.S.), Kelly Jack Sur (Radford H.S.), Thomas Correa (Waiakea H.S.), Sondra Lundvick (Hilo H.S.)

Coaches: Wendell Say (Aiea H.S.), Greg Taguchi (Kalani H.S.), Fred Salanoa (Radford H.S.), Darren Hernandez (Kapolei H.S.), Bryon Moku Pita (Waiakea H.S.), David Baldwin (Hilo H.S.), Cal K. Lee, (Kalani H.S.), Bronson Leafa (Radford H.S.), Keala Pule, Sr. (Hawaii Football Club).

No comments: