Monday, March 21, 2016


The Legislature will be recognizing Hawai‘i students, teachers and education administrators during Education Week beginning Thursday, March 17, 2016.  A number of ceremonies in the Senate and House chambers have been scheduled as part of the annual Education Week activities.
“Education is the soul of society and taking a moment to recognize the extraordinary work being done in our schools is important,” said Senate Education committee chair, Sen. Michelle Kidani (S Dist. 18 - Mililani Town, portion of Waipi‘o Gentry, Waikele, Village Park, Royal Kunia). “These individuals and programs are creating a brighter future for our keiki.”
“So often we hear about the problems of our education system, but this annual week aims to showcase what is working and making a difference in the lives of our children,” Rep. Roy Takumi (H Dist. 35 - Pearl City, Manana, Waipio), House Education Committee Chair.
Senate sessions convene at 11:30 a.m., with guests moving to the House chamber at 12 noon. The following individuals and organizations are scheduled to be recognized on the Senate and House floor:

Thursday, March 17
Winston Sakurai, Upper School Principal, Hanalani Schools
National Association of Secondary School Principals Hawaii Principal of the Year

Dean Cevallos, Principal, Kea`au High School
Recipient, 2016 Masayuki Tokioka Award to recognize Excellence in School Leadership

Malaea Wetzel, Principal, Haleiwa Elementary School
2015 Class of Distinguished Principals

Hawaii’s 2015 Blue Ribbon Schools
Hahaione Elementary School
Principal Shannon Goo

Palisades Elementary School
Principal Gavin Tsue

Kaelepulu Elementary School
Principal Jamie Dela Cruz

`Iolani School Team
First Place Winners of the LifeSmarts consumer education competition
Sponsored annually among schools statewide by the Hawaii State Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Friday, March 18

Department of Education 2016 Teachers of the Year
Stephanie Mew, Kapunahala Elementary School – Teacher of the Year
Alicia Chang, King Liholiho Elementary School – Honolulu District
David Paul Braun, Jr., Waimea Canyon Middle School – Kauai District
Joy Aulani Takatsuka, King Kamehameha III Elementary School – Maui District
Darryl Yagi, E.B. de Silva Elementary School – Hawaii District
Lynn Yoshida, Mililani Middle School – Central District
Kathy Lin, Highlands Intermediate School – Leeward District

Monday, March 21

Wrayna Fairchild, Manoa Elementary School
2015 Voya Unsung Hero

Jan Kamiya, McCully-Moili`ili Public Library
Friends of the Library of Hawaii Public Librarian of the Year

Anna McCormick, Wahiawa Public Library
Friends of the Library of Hawaii Librarian Excellence in Service

2016 Prudential Spirit of Community Student Awards
Orren Smith, Hanalani Schools
Hawaii State Honoree

Anna Kimata, Punahou School
Hawaii State Honoree

Britnee Akau, Kauai High School
Hawaii State Distinguished Finalist

Phillip Palmore, Kea`au High School
Hawaii State Distinguished Finalist

2015-16 Hawaii Milken Educator
Michael Sana, Waipahu High School

Wednesday, March 23

Teach for America

A number of other activities will be held at the State Capitol during Education Week of which the public is invited to attend:
Thursday, March 17 - The Friends of the Library of Hawaii will be holding a half-day used book sale.  Visit room 225 between 8:30 am and 1:00 pm.
Friday, March 18 – The Hawaii Children’s Action Network will have displays and information relating to early childhood education available in room 225 between 9:00 am and 11:00 am.  An informal guessing game will be part of the program – with baby pictures of current members of the Senate and House on display.  Prizes go to the three people who are able to correctly identify the most photos.
Monday, March 21 – The Hawaii Public Schools Charter Network will have displays and other information from several charter schools to inform attendees about the variety of programs available to students in their statewide network of schools.  Visit room 225 between 8:00 am and 10:00 am. 

More photos at 

No comments: