Wednesday, April 2, 2008

The Spirit of Small Business

It takes a special person to succeed as a small business owner. Today, the House recognized the hard work, dedication and perseverance of those entrepreneurs who are the 2008 U.S. Small Business Administration Award Recipients. The resolution was offered by Rep. Kyle Yamashita, the Chair of the House Committee on Economic Development & Business Concerns.

Left to right: Thomas Park, Bill Spencer, Bev Gannon, Kyle Yamashita, Representative for David Fell, Rex Matsuno, Pam Tumpap, Johnson Choi

Small Business Person of the Year
Beverly "Bev" Gannon - Haliimaile General Store Inc. and Nene Grill, Inc. from Makawao, Maui.

Entrepreneurial Success
Rex Matsuno - Suisan Company, Ltd., from Hilo, Hawaii.

Small Business Exporter
David Fell - Hawaiian Sunshine Nursery, Inc. from Hilo, Hawaii.

Family Owned Small Business
Jonathan Ota - Tip Top Cafe & Bakery from Lihue, Kauai.

Financial Services Champion
William "Bill" A. Spencer - Hawaii Venture Capital Association from Kailua, Oahu.

Minority Small Business Champion
Johnson W.K. Choi - Hong Kong, China. Hawaii Chamber of Commerce from Honolulu.

Small Business Journalist
Pamela Tumpap - Maui Chamber of Commerce from Kahului, Maui.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Thomas P. Park - Leather Soul LLC, from Honolulu.

Women in Business Champion
Joan A. Seery - BNJ Hawaii Networking Institute and Serious Business Solutions.

1 comment:

Vernon said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.