Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Representative Scott Nishimoto Recognized as 2019 Legislator of the Year

Honolulu, Hawaii – On January 29, 2020, the Friends of the Library of Hawai‘i (FLH) recognized Representative Scott Nishimoto as the 2019 Legislator of the Year for his commitment to improving, supporting, and strengthening the Hawai‘i State Library system.

The Friends of Library organization presents the Mahalo award annually to a state legislator who demonstrates continued support and dedication to the Hawai‘i State public libraries throughout the previous legislative session. Representative Nishimoto has been a steadfast supporter of library services in the McCully-Moili‘ili community. He recognizes the necessity for providing high-quality education and understands the important role the library system plays in cultivating learning opportunities in the State of Hawai‘i.

FLH President Lynnae Lee opened the Legislative breakfast and welcomed guests to the Hawai‘i State Library. Members of the Hawai‘i State Legislature, Hawai‘i State Public Library System, and Friends of the Library joined in celebrating the Mahalo Award presentation to Representative Nishimoto by Executive Director Nainoa Mau.

January 29, 2020 – (Pictured from left to right) Senators Michelle Kidani and Russell Ruderman, and Representatives Della Au Belatti, Dee Morikawa, Chris Lee, Scott Nishimoto, Troy Hashimoto, Scot Matayoshi, Lisa Kitagawa, Aaron Johanson, Mark Nakashima, Sylvia Luke, and Val Okimoto celebrate presentation of FLH's 2019 Legislator of the Year Award to Representative Nishimoto.

Representative Nishimoto represents District 21 which includes McCully, Moili‘ili, and Kapahulu. Since entering the Legislature in 2002, he has strongly supported grants for the State libraries and continuously advocated for the improvement of early learning and childhood education. During this legislative session, Representative Nishimoto is a member of the Finance, Interstate Commerce, and Public Safety, Veterans, and Military Affairs Committees.

No comments: