Wednesday, February 1, 2012

"808 Boyz" Win NFL Flag Football National Championship

Speaker Say joined Governor Abercrombie in congratulating the 2012 NFL Flag Football National Champions, Palolo's "808 Boyz." This marks the first Flag Football National Championship for Hawai'i. In honor of the team's accomplishments, the governor issues a proclamation declaring January 31, 2012 "808 Boyz Day."

Despite entering the final round of tournament competition with an undefeated record, the Boyz were given the 6th seed. Battling back against continental bias, the Boyz defeated the defending national champions from Florida in the semi-finals before dismantling a team from Cincinnati to win the championship. The team members are Jayden De Laura, Andrei Iosivas, Ka'ua Nishigaya, Noali Nishigaya, Rocky Ramones, Zachary Sagayaga, and Noa Schachtel. Coaches Jacob De Laura, Myles Nishigaya, and Edgar Sagayaga helped the Boyz make history. The championship game will air April 1 on ESPN and April 15 on ESPN2. Congratulations to the "808 Boyz." Hawai'i is proud of your hard work, perseverance, and accomplishment.


No comments: