Thursday, September 8, 2011

Appointees named to Native Hawaiian Roll Commission

Rep. Faye Hanohano and other House and Senate members today joined Gov. Neil Abercrombie at a press conference to announce the five appointees to the Native Hawaiian Roll Commission.

They are: former Governor John D. Waihe'e (At-Large), Lei Kihoi (Hawai'i), Mahealani Perez-Wendt (Maui), Na'alehu Anthony (O'ahu), and Robin Puanani Danner (Kaua'i).

Act 195, signed into law in July, requires the Commission to create a roll of qualified Native Hawaiians, as defined by state law, who would eventually be able to participate in the organization of a Native Hawaiian government.

Read more about it at KITV4.

No comments: