Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Rep Oshiro named Legislator of the Year by Friends of the Library

Representatives from Friends of the Library of Hawaii today surprised Rep. Marcus Oshiro with an announcement that he was selected to receive the organization's Legislator of the Year Award for his support and commitment to Hawaii public libraries.

Susan Li, president of the board, and Byrde Cestare, executive director, visited Rep. Oshiro's office to give him a lei and personally invite him to accept the award on January 12, 2010 during a special ceremony to be held at Washington Place from 8 - 9 a.m.

Rep. Oshiro joins a distinguished group of past award winners. In 2008, Sen. Clarence Nishihara was named Legislator of the Year. And the first person to ever receive the award happens to be newly-elected Governor Neil Abercrombie, awarded in 1985 when he was a Hawaii State Senator.

Photo (from left to right): Susan Li, president of the board of Friends of the Library of Hawaii; Rep. Marcus Oshiro; Byrde Cestare, executive director of Friends of the Library of Hawaii.

1 comment:

Sean McLaughlin said...

Congratulations to Marcus Oshiro!

Hopefully, there is a chance to support next generation libraries with vision and broadband media access.