Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Same sex marriage, Civil Unions, Domestic Partnerships

The National Conference of State Legislatures recently updated a status of where states stand on the issue of same sex marriage, civil unions and domestic partnerships. The tables can be found here.

Quick Facts:

States that issue marriage licenses to same sex couples: Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire. California passed a law allowing same sex marriage in April 2008, but it was overturned by Proposition 8 in November 2008. Marriages performed prior to Prop. 8 remain valid.

States that recognize same sex marriages performed in other states: Rhode Island, New York, District of Columbia.

States that allow civil unions: Connecticut, Vermont, New Jersey, New Hampshire.

States that allow domestic partnerships, with nearly all state-level spousal rights to unmarried couples: California, Oregon, Washington.

States that allow domestice partnerhsips with only some state-level spousal rights to unmarried couples: Hawaii, Maine, District of Columbia, Wisconsin.

Hawaii is also one of 18 states that offer benefits for same sex partners of state employees. The Hawaii law passed in 1997.

No comments: