Monday, June 8, 2009

50th Anniversary of Statehood

The year 1959 must have been an exciting and busy time at the Hawaii Legislature. The year started with the opening of the Thirtieth Legislature of the Territory of Hawaii. It convened on Wednesday, February 18, 1959 and adjourned on Saturday, May 2, 1959.

The Officers of the House were:

Speaker: Honorable Elmer F. Cravalho (Kula, Maui)
Vice Speaker: Honorable Hiram K. Kamaka (Kaneohe, Oahu)
Clerk: Herman T.F. Lum (Honolulu, Oahu)
Assistant Clerk: George Shiroma (Honolulu, Oahu)
Sergeant At Arms: Masato Tojo (Honolulu, Oahu)
Assistant Sergeant At Arms: Henry Mondo (Wahiawa, Oahu)

Then, as now, there were 51 members of the House, with only two women, Dorothy Devereux and Flora Hayes. There were only 18 districts then, but certain districts were represented by multiple representatives. For example, the 15th district was represented by 6 lawmakers, including Dorothy Devereux, Vincent Esposito, Tom Gill, Ward Russell, James Shigemura and Howard Worrall.

1 comment:

karen said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.