Thursday, March 19, 2009

SBA Award Winners honored by lawmakers

Today on the House floor, Representatives Angus McKelvey and Isaac Choy introduced their colleagues to eleven local business men and women who won U.S. Small Business Administration Awards for the State of Hawaii. A house resolution was introduced to recognize and honor the U.S. Small Business Administration's dedication to the small business community.


Young Entrepreneur of the Year - Mr. Michael Fairall, owner and principal of Mokulua Woodworking, Ltd.

Small Exporter of the Year - Mr. Richard Xie, president of Hawaiian Sealife Inc.

Family-Owned Small Business of the Year - Jayne Kim and June Arakawa, owners of Eki Cyclery.

Small Business Journalist of the Year - Naomi Hazelton Giambrone, founder of Pacific Edge Magazine.

Veteran's Business Champion of the Year - Judy Arayanado, a Work & Family Life coordinator for the Pearl Harbor Fleet & Family Support Center for 15 years.

Entrepreneurial Success of the Year - Timothy Moore, Michael Moore, and Robert Aguiar, Old Lahaiana Luau & Aloha Mixed Plate.

Women in Business Champion of the Year - Melissa Pavlicek, founder and president of the Hawaii Public Policy Advocates.

Financial Services Champion of the Year - Jean Jeremiah, administrator with the SCORE Association (counselors to America's Small Business).

Minority Small Business Champion of the Year - Barbara Haliniak, founder of Business Depot, Inc. and chair of the Molokai Chamber of Commerce.

Home-Based Business Champion of the Year - Agnes Reyes, president of Case Management Professionals, Inc.

Small Business Person of the Year - Vaughn Vasconcellos, president and chief executive officer of Akimeka LLC

In Photo: Reps. McKelvey and Choy with the winners of the SBA Hawaii awards.

No comments: